There's a scary email scam floating around that targets Apple users through a fake iTunes or App Store receipt, according to Business Insider. In typical phishing fashion, the emails look just like an Apple iTunes email, so it's easy to be fooled, and list invoices for movie purchases or Netflix subscriptions. There's a one-line warning that states, "If you did not make this purchase, we recommend that you go to Cancel and Refund Transaction," which is where the real trap is.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

More From Cosmopolitan

If you click the link, it takes you to a site that looks ​just​ like an Apple website, and asks for your account details and credit card info in order to issue your "refund." Apple said in a statement on its website, "The iTunes Store will never ask you to provide personal information or sensitive account information (such as passwords or credit card numbers) via email."

It might seem like an obvious tip-off (why would you be buying a Netflix subscription from the iTunes Store?), but if you use Apple TV, you might have purchased one from the App Store. If you get this email, do not click the link. Instead, go to "Settings" on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch, and select "iTunes & App Store." Tap your Apple ID, then View Apple ID (this will prompt you for your password, and that's okay) Subscriptions and Manage to see a list of your subscriptions, suggests Lewis Heayns, Test Engineer in the Good Housekeeping Consumer Electronics and Engineering Lab.

In general, you should never open attachments when you don't know the sender or they look suspect, reminds Rachel Rothman, Chief Technologist at the Good Housekeeping Institute. "Take extra security precautions whenever you can by looking for websites with 'https://,' enabling two-step authentication on Gmail, and never perform secure transactions on public WiFi."

Be safe out there and share this story to warn your friends!


From: Good Housekeeping

What do you think?