Download the latest issue of Cosmopolitan Magazine just for ₹69/-

WhatsApp Will Soon Allow Its Users to Exit Groups Without Notifying Other Members

A monumental update for sneaky evaders?

Let's get real—at some point in time, each one of us has wanted to quit a WhatsApp group for reasons ranging from "oh way too much talk" to a simple idgaf attitude. If you're one of the many, rejoice; WhatsApp is making matters much more discrete. The instant messaging app is reportedly working on a new feature that'll allow users to exit groups without notifying its other members. 

The update will be available to Android, iOS, and desktop users, and while group members won't notice, group admins will certainly be notified of the same. WhatsApp is also working on another feature that will allow users—or perhaps, solely group admins—to view the past participants of any particular group. Currently, if you are to exit a group, all members of the group are informed of the development. 

The novel feature is in the works and will reportedly be rolled out in the upcoming WhatsApp update. "The feature will be available in a future update of the app. You can see a different message when you try to leave a group; only group admins will be notified when you leave a group. But an update of WhatsApp beta for Android brings details about another feature under development: the ability to view past participants is under development, so it will be still possible to see who left a group, somehow," WABetaInfo noted in a blog.